Franklin County Health Department

Public Health Saves Lives


Board of Health

Board of Health Structure

The Franklin County Board of Health is comprised of twelve (12) members appointed by the Secretary of the Cabinet for Health and Family Services from a list of nominees.  Members serve a term of two (2) years and may be reappointed if nominated.  KRS 212.020 is the Kentucky Revised Statute which organizes a County Health Board.  Board of Health requirements are governed by Kentucky Administrative Regulation  902 KAR 8:150 . 

Any person residing in Franklin County may nominate themselves or someone else to serve on the Board of Health.

A nomination form may be found at under LHD Forms: Board of Health. 

Franklin County Board of Health Meetings

The Franklin County Board of Health meets at the Franklin County Health Department – Public Health Center, 851 East-West Connector, Frankfort, KY and teleconference via Zoom and Facebook.
Meetings begin promptly at 6:00 p.m. If any of the meetings are canceled, a notice will be placed on the door and the website prior to the regular meeting time.
The following is a full listing of the 2022 scheduled meeting dates for the Franklin County Board of Health. 

Sept 19, 2022
Dec 8, 2022
Mar 20, 2023
June 19, 2023

Board of Health Members

Charles Bradshaw, DMD, Chair
Arba Kenner, MD, Vice Chair
Paula Hoover, OD, Treasurer
Huston Wells, Judge/Executive
Elle Travis, Fiscal Court Rep.
Joe Grider, PE
Stephen Hall, MD
Wayne Morris, RPH
Jane Bartram, APRN
Constance Morgan, RN/Consumer Rep.
Suresh Saxena, MD
Denis King, DVM

Meeting Minutes and Agendas

Board of Health meeting minutes will be available after the minutes have been approved. Please note that approval of minutes takes place at the following meeting, so it will take a few months for the minutes to be approved.  For a copy of the official version, please contact the Health Department at 502-564-7647 x 124

Updated: October 2, 2022